K-9 Obedience Training Courses

Develop a better relationship with your dog through HSSC’s K-9 Obedience Training Courses. These group classes help strengthen the bond between dogs and their owners through education and positive training. We offer courses ranging from beginning puppy to basic manners to agility. Whether you’re interested in just the training basics, entering your dog into a competition, or certifying your dog to do pet therapy, HSSC has the class for you.

Our classes are taught by top-notch coaches and are offered at significantly lower prices than other classes in the area. Our classes range from $60-80 per six-week session. And all HSSC adopters receive a $10 discount on their first course!

We encourage you to enroll your dog early. If we have fewer than three students enrolled, we will cancel the course and you will get a full refund.

All upcoming courses and dates are listed below. For details, contact our K-9 Behavior Specialist, John Pfohler, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 941.955.4131 x124.

K-9 Obedience Training Courses Offered

Basic Obedience 1
Learn how to teach your dog how to behave in your household. Positive reinforcement is used to teach your dog such commands as sit, down, come, stay, and also walking on a leash. This course consists of six one-hour classes and will meet once a week unless otherwise noted. Fee: $80.

Start Date Finish Date Time
Saturday, January 5 Saturday, February 9 8:45am
Saturday, January 5 Saturday, February 9 10am
Wednesday, January 16 Wednesday, February 20 10am
Thursday, February 7 Thursday, March 14 10am
Saturday, February 23 Saturday, March 30 8:45am
Tuesday, March 5 Tuesday, April 9 5:45pm
Wednesday, March 20 Wednesday, April 24 10am
Saturday, April 13 Saturday, May 18 8:45am
Thursday, April 18 Thursday, May 23 10am
Wednesday, May 8 Wednesday, June 12 10am


Basic Obedience 2
Earn a Canine Good Citizen certificate and build on the skills learned in Basic Obedience 1 while learning commands that require more concentration for your dog. These lessons include how to accept a friendly stranger, sit politely for petting, walk through crowds, react to other dogs, and so much more. This course consists of six one-hour classes and will meet once a week unless otherwise noted. Fee: $80.

 Start Date Finish Date Time
 Tuesday, January 8 SOLD OUT Tuesday, February 12 5:45pm
Saturday, January 5 Saturday, February 9 11:15am
Saturday, February 23 Saturday, March 30 10am
Saturday, April 13 Saturday, May 18 10am
THE HUMANE SOCIETY OF SARASOTA COUNTY
2331 15th Street | Sarasota, FL 34237 | 941.955.4131 | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
THE ANIMAL CLINIC OF HSSC
1090 North Tuttle Ave | Sarasota, FL 34237 | 941.364.3605 | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

© 2018 Humane Society of Sarasota County. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy | Site Map

THE HUMANE SOCIETY OF SARASOTA COUNTY, INC., IS A PRIVATE, NON-PROFIT 501(C)(3) CORPORATION REGISTERED WITH THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE & CONSUMER SERVICES, REGISTRATION NUMBER CH239, AND RECEIVES 100% OF ALL DONATED FUNDS. A COPY OF THE OFFICIAL REGISTRATION AND FINANCIAL INFORMATION MAY BE OBTAINED FROM THE DIVISION OF CONSUMER SERVICES BY CALLING TOLL-FREE 1-800-435-7352 WITHIN THE STATE OR ONLINE AT WWW.FRESHFROMFLORIDA.COM. REGISTRATION DOES NOT IMPLY ENDORSEMENT, APPROVAL, OR RECOMMENDATION BY THE STATE.

Charity Navigator
Guidestar
DONATE
Toggle Bar