K-9 Obedience Training

Develop a better relationship with your dog through the Humane Society of Sarasota County’s behavior training group classes. Our classes help strengthen the bond between dogs and their owners through education and positive training. We offer classes ranging from beginning puppy to basic manners to agility. Whether you’re interested in just the training basics or entering your dog into a competition, HSSC has the class for you.

Our classes are taught by top-notch coaches and are offered at significantly lower prices than other classes in the area. Our classes range from $60-80 per six-week session. And all adopters receive $10 off their first course! For more information about our K-9 Obedience Training Program, please call 941.955.4131.

Please remember to enroll your dog early! In order to keep costs down, if we have fewer than three students enrolled, we will cancel the course and you will get a full refund.

For a printable, full course schedule click here or you can view the dates and register below.

 

K-9 Obedience Training Classes Offered:

Basic Obedience 1

Learn how to teach your dog how to behave in your household. Positive reinforcement is used to teach your dog such commands as sit, down, come, stay, and also walking on a leash. This course consists of six one-hour courses and will meet once a week unless otherwise noted. Fee: $80. Click here to register.

2017 Course Start Dates:

Start Date: End Date: Time:
Saturday, January 7  SOLD OUT 8:45 a.m.
Friday, January 13 SOLD OUT 10:00 a.m.
Tuesday, January 24  SOLD OUT 5:45 p.m.
Saturday, February 25  SOLD OUT 8:45 a.m.
Friday, March 3  Friday, April 7 10:00 a.m.
Saturday, April 15  Saturday, May 20 8:45 a.m.
Tuesday, May 2  Tuesday, June 6 5:45 p.m.

 

Basic Obedience 2

Earn a CGC (Canine Good Citizen) certificate and build on the skills learned in Basic Obedience 1 while learning commands that require more concentration for your dog. These lessons include how to accept a friendly stranger, sit politely for petting, walk through crowds, react to other dogs, and so much more. This course consists of six one-hour courses and will meet once a week unless otherwise noted. Fee: $80. Click here to register.

2017 Course Start Dates:

Start Date: End Date: Time:
Saturday, January 7  Saturday, February 11 10:00 a.m.
Wednesday, February 1  Wednesday, March 8 10:00 a.m.
Saturday, February 25  Saturday, April 1 10:00 a.m.
Tuesday, March 14  Tuesday, April 18 5:45 p.m.
Wednesday, March 22  Wednesday, April 26 10:00 a.m.
Saturday, April 15  Saturday, May 20 10:00 a.m.
Friday, April 21 Friday, May 26 10:00 a.m.

 

Therapy Dog Prep Class

This class is for those who would like to get their dog ready to take the Therapy Dog test. Dogs are required to have a minimum of a Basic 2 class or be able to demonstrate those skills. Dogs will be taught to work around distractions, and the course will focus on what will be required of the dog to successfully pass the test. Evaluators will be available for those finishing the class. This one-hour course meets for four consecutive weeks, two of which will be offsite. Fee: $50 (You can join at any time.)
Click here to register.

2017 Course Start Dates:

Start Date: End Date: Time: No Class On:
Every Thursday  N/A 10:00 a.m.  N/A